Register here.

Acknowledgement of Territory We are located in the traditional territories of the Niitsitapi (Blackfoot Confederacy) and the people of the Treaty 7 region in Southern Alberta.

Many of you may have noticed that across the campus that there has been an increase in number of people who are acknowledging “that we are on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis.
Short version. The U of C offers explicit advice on how to acknowledge traditional Indigenous territories. Treaty 7 Territory Land Acknowledgements. For example, "Donald, white settler, from Manitoulin Island and NOTE: See Resources (below) for additional examples of treaty territory and traditional lands acknowledgements and guidance regarding the composition of appropriate acknowledgements – AHS source – and to view maps of Alberta’s and Canada’s numbered treaties and other information. this land. Mount Royal University permanently raised Treaty 7 and Métis flags in an effort to recognize Indigenous histories and cultures in 2016. In the spirit of reconciliation, we acknowledge that we live, work and play on the traditional territories of the Blackfoot Confederacy (Siksika, Kainai, Piikani), the Tsuut’ina, the Îyâxe Nakoda Nations, the Métis Nation (Region 3), and all people who make their homes in the Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. Photo by Josie Lukey Prior to giving your land Acknowledgement, you may want to start with a statement like, "Jane, second generati on settler, of German descent…" If you were born in Canada or the U.S. consider searching the treaty and territorial Nations where you grew up. It is freely provided in support of improved teaching and learning under the following Creative Commons license. We are all Treaty people. the Mi’kmaq. — Official university acknowledgement provided by Executive Director, Diversity and Inclusiveness, Dalhousie University Mount Saint Vincent University (Halifax) We [I] would like to begin by acknowledging that we are in Mi’kma’ki, the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi’kmaq People.
Acknowledgement. Treaty 8 Acknowledgement: This guide was developed by the Alberta Regional Professional Development Consortium to support implementation. The Immigrant Education Society (TIES) is located on the traditional territories of the Blackfoot and the people of the Treaty 7 region in Southern Alberta, which includes the Siksika, the Piikuni, the Kainai, the Tsuut’ina and the Stoney Nakoda First Nations, including Chiniki, Bearspaw, and Wesley First Nation. But there’s still a long way to go.

The City of Calgary is also home to Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3. Treaty 6 - When in Edmonton and area: A session on this topic will be held during the Fall Fortnight on Monday August 29, 2016 from 9:30 – 9:55. A d mi n i s tr a ti v e P r o c e d u r e 1 5 4 Treaty 6 Acknowledgement B a c k g r o u n d : T h e Di vi si o n re co g n i ze s t h e h i st o ri ca l si g n i f i ca n ce a n d co n t ri b u … 50 nations in Treaty 6.